Posted by: twisted sunshine | July 10, 2012

Lime88 Bar and Restaurant

20120710-120531.jpg
Street food with a twist!

Ever since I was a kid, I envy my classmates who would go out of the school gates to buy fishballs, kikiam, iskrambol. As I grew older, I see my classmates huddled at the corner of the streets, I smell the yummy bbq scent of isaw, pork barbeque, betamax. I was never allowed to eat streetfood when I was a kid. Now that I am older and my tummy is more tolerant to “dirty” food, I indulge myself on streetfood every once in a while.

Much to my delight, I saw the Tumblr of Chef Arch. Streetfood na pinasosyal! I promised myself that I will find a way to get there! Fast forward to a few days ago, at last, I got to Lime88! It was quite far from where I live, I was glad that the trip was worth it!

Lime88 is open everyday, 6pm-2am. My foodie partner and I got there at around 7:30pm. The place looked like the house of my foodie partner, except that Lime88 has a bar near the gate. It was quite dark but I like the songs being played. It was like listening to RX Monster Riot playlist.

20120710-120542.jpg
Balut in Red Wine Sauce – The first dish we ordered. It was amazing! Balut was fried in a batter with bread crumbs and the red wine sauce is drizzled on top. I was glad that the sisiw was small, i loved that the yolk was soft and firm. The sauce was a bit tangy but it was perfect with the balut.

20120710-120549.jpg
Crispy Dinuguan – Ang tunay na crispy dinuguan. We had this with garlic rice. The garlic rice was yum! I had to stop myself from ordering another plate. I’m not sure if the rice was mixed with butter but it sure was delicious. The crispy dinuguan had crispy pork and crispy isaw, swimming in a pool of pork blood and other laman loob. Sounds disgusting? Yes. Tasty? Oh, YES!!!! Absolutely delicious. I like how it tasted, not sour like most dinuguan that I’ve had. Crunchy pork and crispy isaw was perfect with garlic rice.

20120710-144032.jpg
Assorted Streetfood BBQ Platter – Pork isaw, chicken isaw, betamax with vinegar and peanut sauce. The peanut sauce tasted like peanut butter for kare-kare mix, not good with isaw. I love the marinade they used for the isaw, a mix of sweet and salty and charred flavors, dipped in sour and spicy vinegar. My mouth is watering as I’m typing this.

20120710-144138.jpg
Iskrambol – served in a water goblet. Very sosy! I’m not quite sure how iksrambol tastes like, but this was kind of watery. I mixed the powdered milk toppings and choco syrup, it was still watery but sweet.

20120710-144145.jpg
Brown Sugar Daddy – My drink of choice. Absolut vodka mixed with cranberry juice and vanilla, martini glass rimmed with brown sugar. Can I have 5 of these please?

If only Lime88 were near our house, I’d surely be seen here hanging out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

